From Tity Boi to 2 Chainz

20120105-141742.jpg

I knew I couldn’t be the only person who wanted to know the story behind the transition from stage name “Tity Boi” to “2 chainz” [though I still have a blank stare as to why it was tity Boi to begin with]. Finally in a recent interview with Shade 45, 2 chainz, 1 half of group Playaz Circle, explains why he changed his name from Tity Boi to 2 Chainz, stating that “2 chainz” has more substance behind it:

“I’ve been doing a lot of media runs up in New York lately promoting my CD T.R.U. Realigion and every single interview I do they like, ‘What’s up with the name change?’ So this is the universal answer, I just came up with it yesterday over a big bowl of kush for breakfast. I thought of it yesterday morning, check it out. I go by Tity Boi, let me run this to ya’ll, I’m one half of Playaz Circle. I did a song called ‘Duffle Bag Boyz’ in ’07 with Lil Weezy. I was signed to DTP/Def Jam and all that. And so people ask me where the 2 Chainz came from I tell them I always talk about jewelry and I always been saying 2 Chainz in a lot of my songs. But lately like the last year or so I’ve been saying it in introducing my records like ‘2 Chainz!’ and kinda making it family friendly. However you wanna say it.”

“I started noticing a change early in the year when I was going to the mall and young ladies would be yelling ‘2 Chainz’ or whatever. So my answer is when I did ‘Duffle Bag Boyz’ in ’07 that was like my first look. Now this right here would be my second chance. You know like 2 Chainz, second chance. So I thought that that would have a little more substance.”

About aPrettiProblem

Inspiring blogger and magazine editor! Covering the latest in [Music.Love.Hoopin.Kicks] Digital Magazine coming soon! Happy blogging

Posted on January 5, 2012, in F.A.M.E., Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

